Finnell, McGuinness, Nezami And Andux P.A. Criminal, personal injury, family, estate and probate.
Click above to review us on Google and FindLaw!

Two convenient locations in North Florida
Jacksonville Office 904-717-7747
Green Cove Springs Office 904-373-7112
Se Habla Español

Over 100 years of
combined legal experience

How serious are drug offenses in Florida?

On Behalf of | Sep 30, 2022 | Criminal Defense, Drug Crimes

There are many drug laws in Florida and, depending on the exact circumstances, the consequences of any one case will be more severe or less severe, felonies or misdemeanors.  For example, if a person is convicted of possession, they will lose their license for two years, even if they were not driving or riding at the time of the arrest.

Drug offenses are taken very seriously and it is essential that you are very careful when it comes to doing anything that may get you into a situation that is difficult to get out of. It is also critical that you understand what the different types of charges are and what sort of punishment they carry with them.

Different charges for different drugs and different circumstances

There are different charges that the law dictates against the person who is caught with different substances. For example:

  • Marijuana: According to federal law, if a person uses and possesses marijuana, it is still considered illegal. The federal Drug-Free Schools and Communities Act and the Drug-Free Workplace Act universities, such as the University of Tampa, which gets federal funding, enforce policies that don’t allow people to use marijuana or possess or distribute it on the university campuses or in the workplaces. Although drug laws vary by state, there are similarities in most state laws.
  • Roofies: This is a very strong tranquilizer. If a person is caught possessing this substance, it is considered a felony, which is punishable with five years in prison and a fine of $5,000. If a person sneaks the substance into someone else’s drink, they could get 15 years in prison and a fine of $10,000. If the person has nonconsensual sex with a person who has the substance in their blood stream, the punishment is 30 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
  • Nitrous oxide: This is considered a second-degree misdemeanor, with a maximum penalty of 60 days in jail and $500 in fines, if the person inhales the substance, possesses it with the intent to inhale, sell, buy, or transfer with the intent to inhale (less than 16 grams). Distributing, buying, selling, possessing or transferring more than 16 grams of nitrous oxide is considered a third-degree felony and the punishment is up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine.

Solid advice from a criminal defense attorney

If you have been charged with a drug offense, consulting with a Florida criminal defense attorney may help your case a great deal. The attorney can help you to protect your rights and can work with you to hopefully get the charges minimized or dismissed. It is important that you walk away with as light a sentence as possible so that you can start your life over and look forward to a better future.