Getting The Tough Defense You Need In Jacksonville For Aggravated Assault And Battery Charges
At Finnell, McGuinness, Nezami & Andux P.A., we defend individuals against aggravated assault and battery charges in Northeast Florida. If you have been charged with these crimes in Florida, you need an experienced and professional legal team by your side. We have over 100 years of combined criminal defense legal experience defending clients against both state and federal level charges. As a team of attorneys, we have the resources and extensive knowledge needed for an effective defense. Our proven track record of helping thousands of people get the representation and guidance they needed to defend against these charges sets our representation apart.
Why Choose Our Team?
An aggravated assault or battery charge is serious. The ramifications of a guilty verdict can have lifelong effects on your ability to get a job, find housing and carry a firearm. If you are a divorced parent, a conviction can affect your ability to be with your kids. The sooner you hire an experienced assault and battery defense attorney, the better your chances of having your charges reduced or dismissed. Our team has successfully defended clients in a variety of criminal charges.
Understanding The Different Levels Of Charges
Assault is any threat of harm that leads to someone’s fear of being hurt. This doesn’t include any physical contact. In the state of Florida, there are simple assault and aggravated assault:
- Simple assault is a second-degree misdemeanor, which can result in a sentence of imprisonment for up to 60 days and fines up to $500.
- Aggravated assault is a third-degree felony and can lead to five years in prison and fines up to $5,000. Felony battery is a third-degree felony with the possibility of up to five years in prison and fines up to $5,000.
When physical contact is made, this is known as battery. There are also two types of battery in Florida:
- Simple battery is when an intentional or unwanted physical contact is made. Simple battery is a first-degree misdemeanor, which can result in up to a year in prison and fines of up to $1,000.
- Aggravated battery is when someone causes serious bodily injury or uses a deadly weapon. You can also be charged with felony battery if you have a prior conviction for battery, even if it was a misdemeanor. Aggravated battery is a second-degree felony with up to 15 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000.
No matter what you are charged with, our legal team can represent your best interests and ensure that your legal rights are always protected.
Find Out What Your Options Are When Facing Assault Or Battery Charges
At Finnell, McGuinness, Nezami & Andux P.A., we offer free consultations, during which we will learn about the details of your case and answer any questions you have about the upcoming legal process. To learn more about what we can do for you and to schedule this important legal consultation, call us at 904-717-7747. You can also reach us via website inquiry email.