Getting An Effective Jacksonville DUI Defense
Have you been arrested for DUI in Northeast Florida? Don’t wait to hire an experienced DUI defense attorney today. At Finnell, McGuinness, Nezami & Andux P.A., we are always ready to help you. We have handled countless DUI cases for the local community. Allow us to use our over 100 years of combined legal experience, knowledge of DUI law in Florida and resources to help you get reduced or dismissed charges. Though DUI cases are common, they can be complex to defend at times. This makes it important to hire one of our experienced lawyers when you’re fighting a DUI charge.
DUI Laws And Penalties In Florida
The penalties associated with a DUI charge depend on the number of prior offenses, the level of alcohol from the blow and if there is a prior refusal to submit to a breath test.
- A first DUI offense carries up to six months in jail, fines of up to $1,000, license revocation from 180 days to a year and six months of an ignition interlock device. If your blood alcohol is over .15 or if you have a minor in the car with you, the fine will be at least $1,000 and can be up to $2,000.
- A second offense in five years can lead to mandatory jail time. Fines for higher BAC or a minor in the car increase up to $4,000.
- A third-offense DUI that occurs within 10 years carries a minimum of 30 days in jail, 90-day vehicle impoundment and a minimum of 10 years of license revocation. If damage to property or serious injury ensues, additional charges and/or fines may occur.
In Florida, implied consent laws require that all drivers lawfully arrested for DUI submit to a breath, urine or blood test. Those who refuse face a one-year driver’s license revocation. A second-offense refusal can lead up to 18 months without a license and additional fines and charges.
You Can Still Drive After A Conviction If You Take The Right Steps
The DMV penalties begin immediately upon your arrest. You must elect to have a formal hearing on your suspension within 10 days of your arrest. If you do this, you may be eligible to obtain a hardship license. In certain circumstances, an administrative hearing may be wise so that you can challenge your license suspension.
This is why time is of the essence to contact an experienced DUI attorney after your arrest. We will look into every aspect of the charges. We will determine if protocol was followed, if the arresting officer had the appropriate training and if there are opportunities to have the charges reduced or dismissed. We will walk you through the process, and keep you informed of what will happen next and what you can expect.
Pleading guilty just to get it over with is rarely, if ever, in your best interest. Your conviction will show up on background checks, and your insurance rates will likely increase. We can help ensure you get the defense you need to protect your record, license and future. We have helped hundreds of people who’ve been charged with a DUI get the protection they needed. As attorneys experienced with a wide range Florida criminal charges, we can offer advice and guidance on cases that have extenuating circumstances.
Schedule A Free DUI Legal Consultation
At Finnell, McGuinness, Nezami & Andux P.A., we offer free consultations with one of our criminal defense attorneys. During this conversation, we will review your charges and learn the details of your case. We also can answer any questions you have about the upcoming legal process. Allow our team to help represent you. DUI charges are serious, and they require the help of an experienced DUI defense lawyer. You could face jail time, fines and license revocation. Email us at our law office or call 904-717-7747 today.